Students honored by departments

Posted Wednesday, April 17, 2013 - 5:33pm

Eighteen USU Eastern students will be honored at the annual awards program on Friday, April 25, at 7 p.m. in the Jennifer Leavitt Student Center multipurpose room, by the academic vice chancellor’s office. Also, all honor and high honor students will be awarded honor cords that evening.

Students honored by their departments include; Collette Marx from Price, who will receive the outstanding accounting award; Joshua Camp, Millard, outstanding anthropology award; Rachel Falk, Price, the outstanding art award; Chad Every from Price, the outstanding automotive technology award.

Rachel Sharp from Castle Dale, the Boni Nichols Stick-to-it-Award; Keera Allred, Huntington, outstanding business award; Brooke Brady, Price, the outstanding biology award; and Jared Jacobsen, Lind, Wash., the outstanding chemistry award.

Mark McIntyre from Moab, will receive the outstanding communication award; Jordon Nelson, Price, outstanding criminal justice student; Rhyker Allred, Emery HS, outstanding diesel equipment technology; Jace Fausett, Emery HS, outstanding engineering drafting and design; Shadayah Jones, Cleveland, outstanding education student; Emily Williams, Provo, the outstanding English student; Aaron Treglown, South Jordan, the outstanding engineering student; Jumi Kim, South Korea, outstanding family and consumer human development; Karli Morris, Roosevelt, outstanding journalism student; Terri Paulk, East Carbon, outstanding math student; and Jordan Sanders, Castle Dale, outstanding music student.

Nicole Bradley from Magna, outstanding LPN nursing student; Sungjae Park, South Korea, outstanding RN nursing student; Tyler Bean, Carbon HS, outstanding philosophy student; Deven Norried, Price, outstanding political science student; Desiree Sicilia, Price, outstanding psychology student; Tim Swensen, Grantsville, outstanding theatre student; Remington Grace, Ferron, outstanding welding student; and Casey Olsen, Bear River, outstanding wildlife science student.

The Val J Halamandaris Award is being given to Emma Rowley, from Duchesne. The award is given to the top student who is in good standing with the school, has an intrinsic commitment to voluntary service, initiative and innovation in problem-solving, persistence in overcoming obstacles, advocacy for change that alleviates, or considerably improves, the status quo and displays continual caring in volunteer activities.

Filed under: news